Home / Programs / Leadership / Illinois State 4-H Youth Leadership Team
Back to top

From planning and leading the Illinois 4-H Jr. Leadership Conference, to walking the halls of the Illinois State Capitol talking to legislators, to representing Illinois 4-H at state and national events throughout the year, the Illinois State 4-H Youth Leadership Team provides an invaluable “youth voice” to our University of Illinois Extension State 4-H program. 

The Illinois State 4-H Youth Leadership Team involves 15-22 4-H members and recent 4-H alumni (ages 16-21) who coordinate and assist with various area and statewide 4-H activities. Team members are involved in planning and implementing the Illinois 4-H Jr. Leadership Conference; assisting behind the scenes with events such as Illini Summer Academies and Illinois State Fair; serving as the training team for the Speaking for Illinois 4-H program; and serving on various statewide 4-H committees and boards (i.e. Illinois 4-H Foundation Board of Directors, Illinois Farm Bureau Youth Education Committee), among other duties.

The Youth Leadership Team offers 4-H members and recent 4-H alumni an opportunity to give back to the 4-H program while further enhancing their leadership skills. The Team is actively involved in assisting the State 4-H Office in planning, implementing, and evaluating various 4-H events and activities; representing Illinois at National 4-H Conference; and serving as a youth voice of the Illinois 4-H Youth Development Program.

Illinois Youth Leadership Team Members

  • Caroline Ahrends, Logan County
  • Emma Coursey, Warren County
  • Naomi Dolan, Vermilion County
  • Carina Engst, McLean County
  • Megan Eppel, Lake County
  • Caleb Grover, Christian County
  • Julian Heidrich, Kendall County
  • Anthony Joiner, Macoupin County
  • Ashleigh Janssen, Tazwell County
  • Andrea Miller, Franklin County
  • Krish Nangia, DuPage County
  • Gracie Prose, Ogle County 
  • Jordyn Swinford, Pope-Hardin County
  • Ross Vancil, Henderson County 
  • Sara Timm, Marion County
  • Michelle Wang, Jackson County 
  • Molly Warner, Knox County
  • Advisor Katie Duitsman, Extension 4-H Youth Development Specialist
  • Advisor Johnna Jennings, Extension 4-H Youth Development Educator
e-mail icon
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Google icon