Home / Our Stories / 4-H News / These member are experiencing all 4-H has to offer
Back to top

These member are experiencing all 4-H has to offer

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Award winners photo

Illinois 4-H challenges youth to try new things, experiment in project areas they may enjoy, and explore opportunities around the state and country. The 4-H Experience Award recognizes youth who excel in that challenge.

“The 4-H Experience Award celebrates youth whose 4-H experiences have expanded to the state, national or international level,” said Lisa Diaz, University of Illinois Extension assistant dean and Illinois 4-H director.

The following members received the diamond level award for leadership: Kevin Britton, Pulaski County; Jacob Ellis, Union County; Haleigh Hester, Macoupin County; Michael Hill, Union County; Erin Kistner, Montgomery County; and Mindy Leek, Pulaski County.

Four members earned diamond status for their project work: Taylor Crouch, Macon County; Austin Dufelmeier, Morgan County; McKenna Sell, DeKalb County; and Conner Stewart, Randolph County.

The following 4-H members received the emerald level award for leadership: Anne Becker, Morgan County; Emma Behrens, McHenry County; Grace and Sarah Betz, Will County; Ashlie Boysen-Ledbetter, Rock Island County; David Bruns, Christian County; Krzysztof Gajda, Winnebago County;

Katelyn Hamilton, Randolph County; Ethan and Julian Heidrich, Kendall County; Parker Karrick, Marion County; Pa Kaw Ku, Rock Island County; Jacob Larkin, Livingston County; Courtney and Danielle Lynn, Hamilton County; Madelyn Maxwell, Hamilton County; Elaine and Kate Miller, Hamilton County;

Lydia Oker, Kendall County; Camryn Parker, Hamilton County; Charlotte Roberts, Lake County; Josh Rossi, Grundy County; Isabella and Nalia Warmack, Grundy County; and Garrett Williams, Richland County.

Ten members earned emerald status for their project work: Katelyn Ackland, Ogle County; Andrew Hinrichs, Ogle County; Justene Jennings, DeKalb County; Grace Koester, Randolph County; Emily and Sydney Reppy, Kendall County; Alaina, Chase and Riley Smith, Randolph County; and Beth Warden, Cass County.

Winners were recognized at an award ceremony held Oct. 20 in Champaign. The award is sponsored by the Illinois 4-H Foundation. “Through gifts from our generous donors, we are grateful for the opportunity to recognize the hard work and commitment these young people have put forth,” said Angie Barnard, Illinois 4-H Foundation executive director. “Illinois 4-H and our youth are truly making a difference in our world.”