Home / Our Stories / 4-H News / 4-H youth honored for spirit of service, dedication
Back to top

4-H youth honored for spirit of service, dedication

Friday, April 23, 2021
Clover on a gold glitter background with the words "Experience Awards"

Urbana, Ill. – The career achievements of Illinois 4-H members were celebrated at a virtual ceremony April 10.

The State 4-H Experience Award offers recognition for members who took part in activities and events in the categories of Participation, Community Service, Leadership, and Project Mastery. In order to qualify for the award, 4-H members must have expanded their 4-H experience beyond just the county level.

With the unique circumstances of this past year, the award recipients overcame many challenges on the way to these achievements.

“This was a year that none of us could have imagined and these young men and women did not allow even a global pandemic to get in the way of achieving their goals. In fact, we saw the opposite,” says Lisa Diaz, University of Illinois Extension assistant dean and 4-H director. “These 4-H youth pivoted, innovated, and rose to the occasion in a way that surpassed any and all of our expectations. 

“These youth have demonstrated the 4-H spirit of service, dedication, and resilience throughout this past year,” says Diaz. “As new challenges presented themselves, they stepped up to rise to the occasion.  These awards celebrate hard work and goals being attained.”

Diamond Level awards recognize youth who completed six or more experiences in one of the three dimensions, with at least four experiences beyond the county level.  The Diamond Level awards are sponsored by Mrs. Martha Millard.

Diamond Level Award Winners in Leadership include Leah Rossi, Grundy County; Hannah Rossi, Grundy County; Sarah Rossi, Grundy County; Darcy Cummings, Macoupin County; Trace Cummings, Macoupin County; Katie White, Morgan County; and Olivia Shike, Champaign County.

Diamond Level Award Winners in Project Learning include Annika Deschler, Champaign County; Avie Counts, Pope-Hardin County; Ella Aly, Pope-Hardin County; and Gracy McCarty, White County. 

Diamond Level Awards Winners in Community Service include Shiloh Willis, Hamilton County.

The Emerald Level award recognizes youth who completed eight or more experiences in one of the three dimensions, with at least four of those experiences beyond the county level and at least two at the state, national, or international level.  The Emerald Level awards are sponsored by Mr. and Mrs. Sid and Florence Banwart.

Emerald Level Award Winners in Leadership include Carlson Rozanas, Boone County; Saulius Malik, Cook County; Alexander Ford, DuPage County; Jacob Truhlar, Grundy County; Mia Truhlar, Grundy County; Nalia Warmack, Grundy County; Kate Miller, Hamilton County; Julian Heidrich, Kendall County; Sofie Heidrich, Kendall County; Emily Reppy, Kendall County; Sydney Reppy, Kendall County; Megan Eppel, Lake County; Ava Prior, Lee County; Libby Larkin, Livingston County; Anthony Joiner, Macoupin County; Saralynn Joiner, Macoupin County; Luke Wolff, Macoupin County; Carina Engst, McLean County; Reagan Parks, McLean County; Elaan Bader, Montgomery County; Erin Kistner, Montgomery County; J. Alden Knodle, Montgomery County; Kendall Knodle, Montgomery County; Amanda Niemann, Montgomery County; Hannah Barger, Pope-Hardin County; Abagayle Britton, Pulaski County; Kevin Britton, Pulaski County; and Naomi Dolan, Vermilion County.

Emerald Level Award Winners in Project Learning include Willard Rozanas, Boone County; Caleb Zwilling, Champaign County; Jeremiah Todd, Champaign County; Sophia Holmes, Cook County; Courtney Lynn, Hamilton County; Brayden Caraynoff-Huber, Kendall County; Lydia Oker, Kendall County; DJ Cain, Knox County; Rhayanna Cotter, Lee County; Vivienne Pratt, Livingston County; Braylee Gilmore, Macoupin County; Wyld Gilmore, Macoupin County; Kayleigh Trimm, Macoupin County; Anna Curley, McDonough County; Michael Perkins, McHenry County; Rebecca Perkins, McHenry County; Christopher Corrigan, Livingston County; Lauren Mohr, McLean County; Desiree Reid, Mercer County; Resmiranda Small, Shelby County; Trystan Borders, Union County; Katelyn Davis, White County; Annsley Healy, White County; Avery Edler, Will County; Vanessa Edler, Will County; Peter Widinski, Will County; and Kate Henkel, Woodford County. 

Emerald Level Award Winners in Community Service include Elizabeth Rich, Shelby County.

This year’s celebration was held via a prepared awards video celebrating the recipients that debuted the evening of April 10. 

View the winners’ biographies on the 4-H Award website.

About Illinois 4-H: Illinois 4-H is the flagship youth development program of University of Illinois Extension and administered through the College of Agriculture, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences. 4-H grows true leaders, youth who are empowered for life today and prepared for a career tomorrow. The hands-on approach in 4-H gives young people guidance, tools, and encouragement, and then puts them in the driver’s seat to make great things happen. Independent research confirms the unparalleled impact of the 4-H experience, demonstrating that young people are four times more likely to contribute to their communities; two times more likely to make healthier choices; two times more likely to be civically active; and two times more likely to participate in STEM programs. 

About Extension:  Illinois Extension leads public outreach for University of Illinois by translating research into action plans that allow Illinois families, businesses, and community leaders to solve problems, make informed decisions, and adapt to changes and opportunities. 

Source:  Katie Duitsman, 4-H Leadership Youth Development Extension Specialist, pilcher3@illinois.edu

Writer:  Carissa Nelson, Media Communications Manager, 4-H State Office, carissa7@illinois.edu